Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Canary Islands Off Coast of Western Sahara

28.2N 16.6W

December 27th, 2011 Category: Volcanoes

Canary Islands and Western Sahara - December 24th, 2011

The Canary Islands are a Spanish archipelago located just off the northwest coast of mainland Africa, 100 km west of the border between Morocco and the Western Sahara. The Canaries are a Spanish autonomous community and an outermost region of the European Union.

The archipelago consists of seven large and several smaller islands, all of which are volcanic in origin. Visible here from left to right are La Gomera, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. The Teide volcano on Tenerife is the highest mountain in Spain, and the third tallest volcano on Earth on a volcanic ocean island. The islands have a subtropical climate, with long warm summers and moderately warm winters.

Leave a Reply