Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Wetar

Volcanoes of Java and the Lesser Sunda Islands

8.5S 115.0E

September 29th, 2012 Category: Volcanoes

Indonesia – August 31st, 2012

The chain of islands on the right side of this image belong to the northern archipelago of the Lesser Sunda Islands, including Bali, Lombok, Sumbawa, Flores and Wetar. The archipelago is volcanic in origin, with a number of still active volcanoes, such as Mount Rinjani on Lombok. Others, however, such as Kelimutu, on Flores, are extinct.

Visible on the left side of the image, west of the Lesser Sunda Islands chain, is the island of Java. Formed mostly as the result of volcanic eruptions, Java is the 13th largest island in the world and the fifth largest island in Indonesia. A chain of volcanic mountains, easily visible in this image, forms an east-west spine along the island.

Timor and Nearby Islands in Maritime Southeast Asia

9.8S 124.3E

November 23rd, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Timor-Leste - September 24th, 2009

Timor-Leste - September 24th, 2009

Timor is an island at the southern end of Maritime Southeast Asia, north of the Timor Sea. The largest island in this image, it is divided between the independent state of East Timor (or Timor-Leste), and West Timor, belonging to the Indonesian province of East Nusa Tenggara.

The island’s surface is 11,883 square miles (30,777 km²). The name is a variant of timur, Malay for “east”; it is so called because it is at the east end of a chain of islands. The closest of these islands belong to the Alor Archipelago (due north of West Timor), which in turn is part of the Lesser Sunda Islands.

Visible below the southwestern tip of Timor is the island of Rote, while the island above the northeastern end is called Wetar, part of the Barat Daya Islands, including Wetar.

Timor has older geology and lacks the volcanic nature of the northern Lesser Sunda Islands. The orientation of the main axis of the island also differs from its neighbors. These features have been explained as the result of being on the northern edge of the Indo-Australian Plate as it pushes into Southeast Asia.

The Lesser Sunda Islands

8.5S 121.8E

June 28th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Lesser Sunda Islands - June 23rd, 2009

Lesser Sunda Islands - June 23rd, 2009

The Lesser Sunda Islands, also called the Nusa Tenggara, are a group of islands in the middle-south part of Maritime Southeast Asia. Together with the Greater Sunda Islands to the west they make up the Sunda Islands. The islands are part of a volcanic arc, the Sunda Arc, formed by subduction along the Java Trench.

The Lesser Sunda Islands consist of two geologically distinct archipelagos. The northern archipelago, which includes Flores (left, center), Sumbawa (full image, west of Flores),  Lombok (full image, west of Sumbawa), Bali (full image, left edge) and Wetar, is volcanic in origin.

The islands of the southern archipelago, on the other hand, including Sumba (left edge, below center), Timor (right edge, center) and Babar, are non-volcanic.

Lying at the collision of two tectonic plates, the Lesser Sunda Islands comprise some of the most geologically complex and active regions in the world. Biodiversity and distribution is affected by various tectonic activities.

The Lesser Sunda Islands differ from the large islands of Java or Sumatra containing many small islands as well as deep oceanic trenches. Flora and fauna immigration between islands is restricted, leading to the evolution of a high rate of localized species.