Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Sulawesi Sea

Provinces of the Northern Arm of Sulawesi, Indonesia

1.4N 124.8E

April 10th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

The Indonesian island of Sulawesi has four principle peninsulas. Upon opening the full image, entire Minahassa Peninsula, or northern Sulawesi arm, can be observed. It is shared by two provinces: Gorontalo to the west and North Sulawesi to the east.

Gorontalo province has an elongated shaped area, stretching from west to east almost horizontally on a map, with a total area of 12,215.44 km2 (4,716.41 sq mi). The topography of the province is relatively low, with the elevation ranging between 0—2,400 m (7,874.02 ft) above sea level.

To the north and the south of the province are the Sulawesi Sea and the Gulf of Tomini, respectively. Gorontalo’s coastline length is more than 590 km (366.61 mi). The total sea area of the province is more than 50,500 km2 (19,498.16 sq mi). There are some small islands around the north and the south of the province, 67 of which have been identified and named.

North Sulawesi is bordered by Gorontalo to the west. The latter was originally a part of North Sulawesi until 2001 when it became its own province. The islands of Sangihe and Talaud form the northern part of North Sulawesi and border the Philippines. The capital and largest city in the province is Manado, with a population of about 2 million (as of 2006).

Darvel Bay, Malaysia, in the Coral Triangle

4.6N 118.4E

May 29th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Darvel Bay, Malaysia - May 12th, 2009

Darvel Bay, Malaysia - May 12th, 2009

Darvel Bay or Lahad Datu Bay is a bight (large bay) on the east side of Sabah on the island of Borneo, Malaysia. It is the largest semi-enclosed bay on the east coast of Borneo and faces the Sulawesi Sea.  The bay, and indeed the entire area visible here, is part of the Coral Triangle.

The largest island on the south side of the bay is Timbun Mata Island, at over 26 kilometers long and almost 10 kilometers wide, with an area of 114.97 km². The south side of the island is only separated from the mainland by a shallow channel known as the Trusan Sigalong.

Timbun Mata Island is mountainous. Its highest point is Mt. Tannabalu, at 620 m, a conical, extinct volcano in the island’s center.

Before the year 2000, Timbun Mata was densely wooded with teak forests. However, inroads by illegal logging and land clearing has greatly reduced them.

A number of other islands can be seen off the coast. Those on the far right, Sitangkai and Sibutu, are part of the Philippines. Sitangkai is called the ‘Venice of the Philippines’ due to the use of boats as primary transportation, although footbridges connect one house from another. The major sources of livelihood are fishing and farming, although there is very sparse agricultural land available.