Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Smyrna

Gulf of Izmir in Turkey’s Aegean Region

38.4N 27.1E

September 20th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Turkey - August 31st, 2009

Turkey - August 31st, 2009

The Aegean Region is one of the seven census-defined regions of Turkey, composed of eight provinces. It is located in the west part of the country, bounded by Aegean sea on the west, the Marmara region on the north, the Mediterranean region on the south and southwest, and the Central Anatolia region on the east.

Inland, the region contains numerous mountain ridges interspersed by green valleys. The coast has various bays and natural harbors. Of note is the Gulf of İzmir, formerly known as the Gulf of Smyrna, identifiable here by its greenish color.

The gulf’s inlet is between the peninsula of Karaburun and the mainland area of Foça. It is 40 miles (32 km) in length by 20 miles (16 km) in breadth, with an excellent anchorage.

The city of Izmir, an important Turkish seaport, surrounds the end of this gulf. İzmir, historically Smyrna, is Turkey’s third most populous city and the country’s largest port after Istanbul. Here it can be identified as a greyish-tan area at the innermost part of the gulf, at the foot of two mountain ridges.