Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged São Nicolau

Islands and Mountains of Cape Verde

16.8N 24.9W

February 25th, 2010 Category: Mountains

Cape Verde - February 17th, 2010

Cape Verde - February 17th, 2010

This orthorectified image portrays several of the islands that make up Cape Verde (from left to right in the full image): Santo Antão, São Vicente, Santa Luzia, Ilheu Branco, Ilheu Raso and São Nicolau.

Santo Antão (Portuguese for “Saint Anthony”), or Sontonton in Cape Verdean Creole, is the westernmost and largest of the Barlavento islands of Cape Verde. The nearest main island is São Vicente to the southeast, separated by a channel named Canal de São Vicente. It is the westernmost large island in Cape Verde and the continent of Africa, and the second largest in Cape Verde.

The island, entirely made up of volcanic material. The tallest mountain is Topo de Coroa, reaching a height of 1,979 m. The second tallest is Pico da Cruz at 1,585 m. The island is divided into north and south by a mountain range. Its valleys are suffering heavy erosion.

São Vicente (Portuguese for “Saint Vincent”), also Son Visent or Son Sent in Cape Verdean Creole, is one of the Barlavento islands of Cape Verde. It is located between the islands of Santo Antão and Santa Luzia.

The island is roughly rectangular in shape with a surface area of ca. 227 km2 (88 sq mi). From east to west it measures 24 km (15 mi) and from north to south no more than 16 km (9.9 mi). The terrain includes mountains in the west, the southwest, the south, the east-central and the north. The area is flat in the north-central, the central part, the eastern part south of Calhau and the northern part in the Baía das Gatas area. Much of the island is deforested.

Although volcanic in origin, the island is quite flat. Its highest point is Monte Verde (Portuguese for green mountain) located in the northeast-central part with an altitude of 725 metres (2,380 ft). Although a great amount of erosion has taken place, some craters still remain — in particular near the bay of Mindelo. Other mountaintops include Monte Cara and Topona.

The Cape Verde Archipelago – May 1st, 2009

May 1st, 2009 Category: Image of the day

Cape Verde - April 5th, 2009

Cape Verde - April 5th, 2009



The Republic of Cape Verde is an archipelagic nation located in the Macaronesia ecoregion of the North Atlantic Ocean, off the western coast of Africa.

On the African coast in this image, parts of Morocco and Western Sahara, Mauritania, Senegal and the Gambia can be seen (from North to South).

The previously uninhabited islands were colonized by the Portuguese in the fifteenth century, and attained independence from Portugal in 1975.

The Cape Verde archipelago is located approximately 375 miles (604 km) off the coast of West Africa. It is composed of ten islands (of which nine are inhabited) and eight islets.

The islands have a combined size of just over 4,000 square kilometers. The largest island, both in size and population, is Santiago, where the capital of Praia is located.

The islands are divided into the Barlavento (windward) islands: Santo Antão, São Vicente, Santa Luzia, São Nicolau, Sal, and Boa Vista, and the Sotavento (leeward) islands: Maio, Santiago, Fogo, and Brava.

Though Cape Verde’s islands are all volcanic in origin, they vary widely in terrain. A still-active volcano on the island of Fogo is the highest point on the archipelago (elevation 2,829 meters). Extensive salt flats are found on Sal and Maio. On Santiago, Santo Antão, and São Nicolau, arid slopes give way in places to sugarcane fields or banana plantations spread along the base of towering mountains.