Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Papua New Guinea

The Great Barrier Reef Parallel to the Northeastern Shores of Queensland – October 16th, 2009

12.2S 144.3E

October 16th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Australia - September 4th, 2009

Australia - September 4th, 2009

The Great Barrier Reef creates a turquoise chain off the coast of Queensland, Australia. In the full image, part of Papua New Guinea is visible in the upper left corner, while some of the Cape Yorke Peninsula can be seen in the lower left.

Only partially visible here, the Great Barrier Reef is the world’s largest coral reef system, comprising over 2,900 individual reefs and 900 islands that stretch for over 2,600 kilometres (1,600 mi) over an area of approximately 344,400 square kilometres (133,000 sq mi).

Typhoon Parma and Tropical Storms Melor and 18W North of Papua-New Guinea

10.2N 151.1E

October 1st, 2009 Category: Tropical Cyclones, Tropical Storms

Tropical Storm Melor - September 29th, 2009

Tropical Storm Melor - September 29th, 2009

Enhanced image

Enhanced image

Track of 18W, 19W and 20W - September 30th, 2009 © Univ. of Wisconsin

Track of 18W, 19W and 20W

Three tropical storms of varying intensities can be found north of Papua New Guinea and Australia. The main image focuses on Tropical Storm Melor, while the animated imagery includes all three (from left to right): Typhoon Parma, Tropical Storm 18W and Tropical Storm Melor.

Tropical Storm 18W is located approximately 70 nautical miles east-southeast of Guam. It has tracked west-northwestward at 15 knots over the past six hours. Maximum significant wave height is 17 feet.

Typhoon Parma (19W) is situated about 160 nautical miles northeast of Palau. The system has tracked northwestward at 11 knots over the past six hours. Parma has been upgraded to typhoon status based on intensity estimates by PGTW, RJTD and KNES, along with a microwave eye-like feature seen in an SSMI image. Maximum significant wave height is 18 feet.

Finally, Tropical Storm Melor (20W), located approximately 605 nautical miles east-southeast of Saipan, has tracked west-northwestward at 14 knots over the past six hours. The system’s maximum significant wave height is 15 feet.

Sediments Along Southern Coast of Papua Province, Indonesia – August 27th, 2009

7.9S 138.3E

August 27th, 2009 Category: Image of the day, Rivers

Papua, Indonesia - August 12th, 2009

Papua, Indonesia - August 12th, 2009

River and islands close-up

River and islands close-up

Sediments create a wide tan frame along the southern coast of Papua province, Indonesia, on the island of New Guinea.

These sediments surround the islands of Yos Sudarso and Komoran. The former, also known as Pulau Dolak, is leaf shaped and about 165 km long with an area of 11,600 km².

Komoran is an island just south of the much larger Yos Sudarso near the south coast of New Guinea in Papua province, Indonesia. Its area is 695 km².

Meanwhile, on the western coast, the Digul River spills golden brown sediments into the Arafura Sea. The 525 kilometer- (326 mi-) long river travels across a low region of extensive swamps for much of its length and creates a delta near Yos Sudarso Island.

Fly River Delta, Papua New Guinea

8.5S 143.4E

May 27th, 2009 Category: Rivers

Fly River Delta, Papua New Guinea - May 12th, 2009

Fly River Delta, Papua New Guinea - May 12th, 2009

The Fly, at 1,050 kilometres (650 mi), is the second longest river, in Papua New Guinea. It rises in the Star Mountains, and crosses the south-western lowlands before flowing into the Gulf of Papua in a large delta. Here, golden tan sediments pour from the river into the gulf.

The estuary of the Fly River is 56 km wide at its entrance, but only 11 km wide abreast Kiwai Island, which may be considered as being the river mouth. Above this island the river gradually contracts to a width of 1.6 kilometers or less.

The river delta is studded with low and swampy islands covered with mangrove and nipa palm.  The land on both sides of the estuary is of the same character.

The islands in the estuary, on which there are villages and cultivated areas, are flat and  covered with a thick, fertile alluvial soil.

The largest islands are Kiwai, Wabuda, Domori, Purutu, Aibino and Mibu, although only the former three are inhabited.

Islands and Coral Reefs in Torres Strait, between Australia and Papua New Guinea

9.1S 143.4E

May 15th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Torres Strait Islands - May 12th, 2009

Torres Strait Islands - May 12th, 2009

The Torres Strait Islands are a group of at least 274 small islands which lie in Torres Strait, the waterway separating far northern continental Australia’s Cape York Peninsula and the island of New Guinea.

They are mostly part of Queensland, a constituent State of the Commonwealth of Australia, although a few islands very close to the coast of mainland New Guinea belong to the Western Province of Papua New Guinea.

The islands are distributed across an area of some 48 000 km². The distance across the Strait from Cape York to New Guinea is approximately 150 km at the narrowest point; the islands lie scattered in between, extending some 200-300 km from furthest east to furthest west.

The islands and their surrounding waters and reefs provide a highly diverse set of land and marine ecosystems, with niches for many rare or unique species.

Marine animals of the islands include dugongs (an endangered species of sea mammal mostly found in New Guinean waters), as well as green, hawksbill and flatback sea turtles.