Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Natuna Sea

Topography of Natuna Besar, Indonesia

3.9N 108.1E

March 7th, 2012 Category: Snapshots

Indonesia - January 4th, 2012

This orthorectified wide-swath ASAR image shows some of the 272 islands of the Natuna Islands archipelago, located in the Natuna Sea (a section of the South China Sea) in the larger Tudjuh Archipelago, off the northwest coast of Borneo. The islands are administratively part of the Riau Islands province of Indonesia.

The Natuna islands are divided into three groups: North Natuna, which includes Laut Island (Pulau Laut); Middle Natuna, which includes Natuna Besar; and South Natuna, which includes Subi Besar.  This image focuses on Natuna Besar (or Great Natuna), the main island of the Natuna Besar Archipelago, as well as the Natuna Islands. The area of Natuna Besar is 1720 km².