Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Maas River

Rivers Between Utrecht and Tilburg, the Netherlands

51.5N 5.0E

March 3rd, 2011 Category: Rivers

Netherlands - February 17th, 2011

Three rivers can be clearly observed as they flow more or less horizontally across this APM image (from top to bottom): the Lek River, the Waal River and the Maas River.

Two large cities can also be discerned, from their lighter greenish yellow color dotted with orange. In the upper left corner is Utrecht, and in the lower left corner is Tilburg.

West Frisian Islands and Bodies of Water in the Netherlands

53.0N 5.4E

December 20th, 2010 Category: Lakes, Rivers

The Netherlands - December 19th, 2010

This APM image shows the West Frisian Islands, a chain of islands in the North Sea off the coast of the Netherlands. The body of water located between the islands and the mainland is called the Wadden Sea, an area of mudflats.

In the full image, two large lakes known as the IJsselmeer and the Markermeer can be observed to the south, in the central part of the full image, connected to the Wadden Sea. Below these lakes, in the bottom section, are three rivers flowing more or less horizontally across the image: the Lek River, Waal River and Maas River.

Utrecht, North of the Lek, Waal and Maas Rivers in the Netherlands

52.0N 5.1E

December 9th, 2010 Category: Rivers

The Netherlands - December 8th, 2010

This image focuses on the city of Utrecht (upper left corner) and three nearby rivers, in the Netherlands. Utrecht is the capital and most populous city of the Dutch province of Utrecht. It is located in the eastern end of the Randstad, and is the fourth largest city of the Netherlands, with a population of 300,030 in 2009.

The three rivers crossing the image more or less horizontally, south of Utrecht, are the Lek River, Waal River and Maas River. Upon opening the full image, the Linge River can also be observed as a thin, curving line between the Lek and the Waal.

Maritime Province of Zeeland, the Netherlands

51.5N 3.8E

June 10th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Netherlands - April 18th, 2010

Netherlands - April 18th, 2010

Zeeland is a maritime province in southwestern Netherlands. It occupies the delta lands of the Scheldt (Schelde) and Maas (Meuse) rivers. The province comprises Zeeuwsch-Vlaanderen, a strip of the Flanders mainland between the Westerschelde (Western Scheldt) and Belgium, plus six islands.

These islands are Schouwen en Duiveland, Tholen, Noord-Beveland, Walcheren, Zuid-Beveland, and Sint Philipsland. None of these has preserved a true insular character, all being connected to each other or to Noord-Brabant province inland by dams or bridges.