Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Copenhagen

Copenhagen on Eastern Shore of Zealand, Denmark – July 11th, 2011

55.6N 12.5E

July 11th, 2011 Category: Image of the day

Denmark - July 7th, 2011

Several Danish islands can be observed in this ASAR image. Visible on the large island of Zealand (Sjælland), near the center of the image, is the city of Copenhagen.

Appearing here as a white area, it is the capital and largest city of Denmark. It is located on the eastern shore of Zealand, partly on the island of Amager and on a number of natural and artificial islets between the two.

Copenhagen faces the Øresund to the east, the strait of water that separates Denmark from Sweden, and which connects the North Sea with the Baltic Sea. The Swedish towns of Malmö and Landskrona lie on the Swedish side of the sound directly across from Copenhagen.

Denmark and Northern European Neighbors

55.6N 12.5E

June 16th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Denmark - April 14th, 2010

Denmark - April 14th, 2010

This image focuses on Denmark, located in north-central Europe. Also visible are Sweden and Norway to the North, as well as Germany and the Netherlands to the South.

Denmark has an area of 16,640 sq mi (43,098 sq km). Its territory includes Greenland and the Faroe Islands, which are self-governing dependencies. The country’s population (2009 est.) is about 5,523,000, and the capital is Copenhagen.

Lying between the North and Baltic seas, Denmark occupies the Jutland peninsula and an archipelago to its east. The two largest islands, Zealand (Sjælland) and Funen (Fyn), together make up about one-fourth of the country’s total land area. Denmark also has a 4,500-mi (7,300-km) coastline.

Regions of Zealand and Hovedstaden, Denmark

55.4N 11.7E

April 16th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Denmark - March 5th, 2010

Denmark - March 5th, 2010

Region Zealand (Danish: Region Sjælland) is an administrative region of Denmark established on January 1, 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform, which replaced the traditional counties (“amter”) with five larger regions. Region Zealand consists of the former counties of Roskilde, Storstrøm, and Vestsjælland.

The name of the region can be somewhat misleading as it does not cover the entire island of Sjælland (Zealand); the northeastern part of the island including Copenhagen, Hillerød and Helsingør belonging to Region Hovedstaden. Region Zealand also includes the islands of Lolland, Falster, Møn and several smaller islands (all visible towards the image center).