Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Posts tagged Comino

Indented Coastline of Malta

35.9N 14.4E

June 2nd, 2011 Category: Snapshots

Malta - May 18th, 2011

Malta is a Southern European country consisting of an archipelago situated in the centre of the Mediterranean. It covers just over 300 km² in land area, making it one of the world’s smallest and most densely populated countries.

Malta is an archipelago in the central Mediterranean Sea, some 93 km (57.79 mi) south of the Italian island of Sicily (visible at the top of the full image) across the Malta Channel. Only the three largest islands – Malta (below), Gozo (above), and Comino (middle) – are inhabited.

Numerous bays along the indented coastline of the islands provide good harbours. The landscape consists of low hills with terraced fields.