Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Wyperfeld and Murray-Sunset National Parks, Australia

35.6S 141.7E

June 10th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Australia - June 1st, 2010

Australia - June 1st, 2010

The two dark brown areas in the upper half of this image are Wyperfeld National Park (above) and Murray-Sunset National Park (below). The former is the third largest national park in Victoria (south-eastern Australia). Declared in 1921 and expanded significantly since, it protects more than 3,500 kmĀ² of mallee, woodland, and heathland in Victoria’s north-west, about 450 km northwest of Melbourne.

Murray-Sunset is the second largest national park in Victoria, Australia, 438 km northwest of Melbourne. It is in the northwestern corner of the state, bordering South Australia to the west and the Murray River to the north. The Sturt Highway passes through the northern part of the park, but most of the park is in the remote area between the Sturt Highway and the Mallee Highway, west of the Calder Highway. The park was created in 1991, and expanded to encompass Pink Lakes State Park in 1999.

Leave a Reply