Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

The Kattegat Sea Area, Denmark

54.7N 11.0E

May 30th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Denmark - May 12th, 2009

Denmark - May 12th, 2009

The Kattegat is a sea area bounded by Jutland (Denmark, left, and extreme north Germany), and Skåne, Halland and Bohuslän (Sweden, upper right).

The Baltic Sea drains into the Kattegat through the Oresund and the Danish Straits. The Kattegat is a continuation of the Skagerrak and may be seen as either a bay of the Baltic Sea, a bay of the North Sea, or, in traditional Scandinavian usage, neither of these.

Waterways that drain into the Kattegat are the rivers of Göta älv at Gothenburg, together with the Lagan, Nissan, Ätran and Viskan from the province of Halland on the Swedish side, and the river of Gudenå from Jutland, in Denmark.

The main islands of the Kattegat are Samsø, Læsø and Anholt, where the latter two, due to their dry summer climate, are referred to as the Danish desert belt. Here, Læsø (top) is surrounded by golden brown sediments.

A number of noteworthy coastal areas abut the Kattegat, including the Kullaberg Nature Reserve in Scania (Swedish: Skåne), Sweden, which contains a number of rare species and a scenic rocky shore.

3 Responses to “The Kattegat Sea Area, Denmark”

  1. 1
    Peter Hagström:

    Hi there i just want to point out there is no region or state in sweden with the name “scania” btw “scania” is a truck manufacturing company in sweden and i assume you meant
    “skåne” which is the region/state in souther sweden so change this to “skane” instead :)


    from sweden :)

  2. 2

    Fixed ;)

  3. 3

    Dear Peter, actually, Scania is the English way of saying Skåne, but we’re happy to publish both in the post to make it more accessible to all!

Leave a Reply