Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

The Islands of Majorca and Minorca, Spain

39.6N 3.0E

September 2nd, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Spain - July 28th, 2009

Spain - July 28th, 2009

The two largest islands in the Balearic Islands Archipelago, Majorca (left) and Minorca (right), belonging to Spain, can be seen amidst the dark blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea.

Majorca has two mountainous regions each about 70 km in length. These occupy the north-western (Serra de Tramuntana or Tramuntana range) and eastern thirds of the island. The highest peak on Majorca is Puig Major (1,445 m) in the Serra de Tramuntana.

The northeast coast comprises two sweeping bays: the Badia de Pollença and the larger Badia d’Alcúdia. The northern coast is generally rugged and has many cliffs. The central zone extending from Palma is generally flat fertile plain known as Es Pla.

The climate is Mediterranean, with markedly higher precipitation in the Serra de Tramuntana. Summers are hot in the plains and winters mild to cool, getting colder in the Tramuntana range; in this part of the island brief episodes of snow during the winter are not unusual.

Minorca, whose named comes from its being smaller than nearby island of Majorca, is less mountainous. Its highest point, called El Toro or Monte Toro, is 358 m (1174 ft) above sea level.

Leave a Reply