Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

The Carpathian Mountains in Slovakia, Ukraine and Romania

April 30th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

The Carpathians - April 19th, 2009

The Carpathians - April 19th, 2009

The Carpathian Mountains or Carpathians are a range of mountains forming an arc of roughly 1,500 km (932 mi) across Central and Eastern Europe, making them the largest mountain range in Europe.

The chain of mountain ranges stretches from the Czech Republic in the northwest to Slovakia, Poland, Hungary, Ukraine and Romania in the east, to the Iron Gates on the Danube River between Romania and Serbia in the south.

In the main image, they can be seen in Slovakia (center left), then arching through the southwestern corner of Ukraine and Romania.

The Carpathian chain is usually divided into three major parts: the Western Carpathians (Czech Republic, Poland, Slovakia, Hungary), the Eastern Carpathians (Southeastern Poland, Eastern Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania) and the Southern Carpathians (Romania, Serbia).

The highest range within the Carpathians are the Tatras, on the border of Poland and Slovakia, where the highest peaks exceed 2,600 m (8,530 ft) in elevation, followed by the Southern Carpathians in Romania, where the highest peaks exceed 2,500 m (8,202 ft) in elevation.

The Carpathians provide the habitat for the largest populations of brown bears, wolves, chamois and lynxes in Europe, as well as over one third of all European plant species.

Leave a Reply