Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Svalbard Archipelago, Norway

79.4N 15.4E

June 5th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Svalbard Archipelago, Norway - June 2nd, 2009

Svalbard Archipelago, Norway - June 2nd, 2009

The Svalbard Archipelago is a group of islands in the Arctic Ocean that forms the northernmost part of Norway and the northernmost lands of Europe.

The islands cover an area of 61,022 km², of which about 60% (36,502 km²) is covered by glaciation. Three large islands dominate: Spitsbergen (upper right), Nordaustlandet (top center) and Edgeøya (above Spitsbergen).

The swirled patterns in the ocean near the islands are created when sea ice freezes or melts.

Svalbard lies far north of the Arctic Circle. In Longyearbyen, the midnight sun lasts from April 20 to August 26, and polar night lasts from October 26 to February 15.

From November 12 to the end of January there is civil polar night, a continuous period without any twilight bright enough to permit outdoor activities in the absence of artificial light.

Leave a Reply