Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Seven Groups of Aegean Islands, Greece and Turkey

39.0N 25.4E

May 21st, 2011 Category: Snapshots

Russia - May 18th, 2011

Thousands of islands dot the waters of the Aegean Sea. Most belong to Greece (partially visible to the west), although some belong to Turkey (to the east).

These islands are known as the Aegean Islands, and are traditionally subdivided into seven groups, from north to south: Northeastern Aegean Islands, Sporades, Euboea, Argo-Saronic Islands, Cyclades, Dodecanese (Southern Sporades), and Crete.

Leave a Reply