Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Regions of Zealand and Hovedstaden, Denmark

55.4N 11.7E

April 16th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Denmark - March 5th, 2010

Denmark - March 5th, 2010

Region Zealand (Danish: Region Sjælland) is an administrative region of Denmark established on January 1, 2007 as part of the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform, which replaced the traditional counties (“amter”) with five larger regions. Region Zealand consists of the former counties of Roskilde, Storstrøm, and Vestsjælland.

The name of the region can be somewhat misleading as it does not cover the entire island of Sjælland (Zealand); the northeastern part of the island including Copenhagen, Hillerød and Helsingør belonging to Region Hovedstaden. Region Zealand also includes the islands of Lolland, Falster, Møn and several smaller islands (all visible towards the image center).

Leave a Reply