Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Islands of the Chonos Archipelago, Chile

45.1S 73.9W

March 25th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Chile - February 25th, 2010

Chile - February 25th, 2010

Chonos Archipelago (in Spanish: Archipiélago de los Chonos), south of Chiloé Island,  is a series of low, mountainous, elongated islands with deep bays that are traces of a drowned Chilean Coast Range.

Most of the islands are forested, with little or no human settlement. The deep Moraleda Channel separates the islands of the Chonos Archipelago from the mainland of Chile and from Magdalena Island.

All of the islands are part of the Aisén Region. The largest are Melchor Island, Benjamin Island, Traiguen Island, Riveros Island, Cuptana Island, James Island, Victoria Island, Simpson Island, Level Island, and Luz Island.

Leave a Reply