Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Indonesia’s Lesser Sunda Islands

8.5S 116.6E

August 3rd, 2009 Category: Snapshots, Volcanoes

Indonesia - July 2nd, 2009

Indonesia - July 2nd, 2009

From left to right, the largest Indonesian islands visible here are Java, Bali, Lombok, Sumbawa, Sumba and Flores. All except Java are part of the Lesser Sunda Islands, or Nusa Tenggara, group.

The island of Bali, surrounded by coral reefs, lies 3.2 km (2 mi) east of Java. East to west, the island is approximately 153 km (95 mi) wide and spans approximately 112 km (69 mi) north to south; its land area is 5,632 km². The highest point is Mount Agung at 3,142 m (10,308 feet) high, an active volcano.

Lombok, east of Bali, is roughly circular, with a “tail” to the southwest, about 70 km across and a total area of about 4,725 km² (1,825 sq mi).

Sumbawa has an area of 15,448 km² (three times the size of its western neighbor Lombok). It is a volcanic island, lying within the Pacific Ring of Fire, including the volcano Mount Tambor.

Finally, the island of Sumba has an area of 11,153 km². There is a dry season from May to November and a rainy season from December to April.

Leave a Reply