Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas) in the South Atlantic Ocean

51.7S 57.8W

April 24th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Islas Malvinas / Falkland Islands - April 7th, 2010

Islas Malvinas / Falkland Islands - April 7th, 2010

The Falkland Islands, or Islas Malvinas in Spanish, are located 287 miles (462 km) east of the coast of mainland Argentina, in the South Atlantic Ocean. The archipelago is composed of two main islands, East Falkland (in Spanish: Isla Gran Malvina, due to its larger size) and West Falkland (Isla Soledad) as well as around 776 smaller islands. The two islands are divided by Falkland Sound.

The archipelago has a total land area of 4,700 square miles (12,173 km2), and around 800 miles (1288 km) of coastline. The two main islands, however, make up most of that total area. The islands are a self-governing Overseas Territory of the United Kingdom, although Argentina disputes this claim.

Leave a Reply