Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Eastern Coast of South Africa

28.1S 30.4E

June 11th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

South Africa - June 7th, 2010

South Africa - June 7th, 2010

South Africa is the southernmost country on the African continent. It has an area of 471,359 sq mi (1,220,813 sq km) and a population (2009 est.) of 49,321,000. Its capitals are Pretoria/Tshwane (executive), Cape Town (legislative) and Bloemfontein/Mangaung (judicial).

South Africa has three major zones: the broad interior plateau, the surrounding mountainous Great Escarpment, and a narrow belt of coastal plain. It has a temperate subtropical climate.

Leave a Reply