Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Coastal Provinces of Turkey’s Aegean Region

37.5N 27.2E

December 14th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Turkey - November 19th, 2009

Turkey - November 19th, 2009

The Aegean Region is one of the seven census-defined regions of Turkey. It is located in the west part of the country, bounded by Aegean Sea on the west. The region comprises eight provinces, three of which are visible along the coast here (from top to bottom): İzmir, Aydın and Muğla.

At 1,100 km (683 miles), Muğla’s coastline is the longest among the provinces of Turkey. Of note is the Datça Peninsula, visible here as a long and thin strip of land extending southwestward into the Aegean in the lower left quadrant. The landscape of the province consists of pot-shaped small plains surrounded by mountains, formed by depressions in the Neogene.

In Aydin Province, the central and western parts are fertile plains watered by the largest river in the Aegean region: the Büyük Menderes River, with the Aydın Mountains to the north and the Menteşe Mountains to the south.

Finally, İzmir has an area of 11,973 km2, and its coastline encloses the Gulf of İzmir. The main rivers of the province are Küçük Menderes river, Koca Çay (with Güzelhisar dam), and Bakır Çay.

Leave a Reply