Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Borneo, Sulawesi and Lesser Sunda Islands, Indonesia

1.8S 120.5E

November 30th, 2011 Category: Snapshots

Indonesia - November 25th, 2011

Indonesia, officially the Republic of Indonesia, is a country in Southeast Asia and Oceania. It is an archipelago comprising approximately 13,000 islands. Visible here are Borneo (left), Sulawesi (center) and the Lesser Sunda Islands (bottom).

Borneo is the third largest island in the world. It is divided among three countries: Brunei, Indonesia and Malaysia. Approximately 73% of the island is Indonesian territory.

Sulawesi is the world’s eleventh-largest island, covering an area of 174,600 km2 (67,413 sq mi). It has a distinctive shape, dominated by four large peninsulas (best observed in the full image): the Semenanjung Minahassa; the East Peninsula; the South Peninsula; and the South-east Peninsula. The central part of the island is ruggedly mountainous, such that the island’s peninsulas have traditionally been remote from each other, with better connections by sea than by road.

The Lesser Sunda Islands, or Nusa Tenggara, are a group of islands in the southern Maritime Southeast Asia, north of Australia. Together with the Greater Sunda Islands to the west they make up the Sunda Islands. The islands are part of a volcanic arc, the Sunda Arc, formed by subduction along the Java Trench in the Java Sea.

Leave a Reply