Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Borneo: Indonesia, Malaysia and Brunei

May 9th, 2009 Category: Snapshots

Borneo - April 23rd, 2009

Borneo - April 23rd, 2009

Borneo is the third largest island in the world and is located at the centre of Maritime Southeast Asia. Administratively, this island is divided between Indonesia, Malaysia and Brunei.

Indonesians refer to the island as “Kalimantan.” However, for people outside of Indonesia, “Kalimantan” refers to the Indonesian part of the island, visible here to the East. Some sediments can be seen along the eastern coast, just below the border with Malaysia.

Malaysia’s region of Borneo is called East Malaysia or Malaysian Borneo, partially visible here to the North and West.

The independent nation of Brunei occupies the remainder of the island, near the coast at the far left edge of the image in the area with the least cloud cover.

Borneo is surrounded by the South China Sea to the north and northwest, the Sulu Sea to the northeast, the Celebes Sea and the Makassar Strait to the east, and the Java Sea and Karimata Strait to the south.

Leave a Reply