Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Provinces of Argentine Patagonia

38.9S 68W

April 2nd, 2010 Category: Mountains, Rivers

Argentina - February 23rd, 2010

Argentina - February 23rd, 2010

This image of Argentina includes the provinces of Neuquén (upper left), Río Negro (upper right) and Chubut (lower half). Neuquén is located at the northern end of Patagonia. The province’s southeastern limits are set by the Limay River, facing the Río Negro Province.

There are two main distinctive landscapes; the mountainous fertile valleys with forest on the West, and the arid plateau with fertile land only near the basins of the rivers on the East, mainly the Limay River and Neuquén River.

Río Negro is also located at the northern edge of Patagonia. The main water source at the arid plains that cover most of the province is the Río Negro River, in whose valley most of the settlements and farms are located. The over 600 km of the Rio Negro’s valley are divided in Alto Valle (West), Valle Medio (center) and Valle Inferior (East).

Finally, Chubut is situated in the southern part of Argentina between the 42nd parallel south (forming the border with the Río Negro Province) and the 46th parallel south. The Andes range, partially visible in the lower left corner, separates the province from Chile.

Leave a Reply