Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Hainan Island Separated from Leizhou Peninsula, China

20.0N 110.3E

June 21st, 2012 Category: Mountains

China - January 9th, 2012

This wide-swath ASAR image shows Hainan (below, right), the smallest province of the People’s Republic of China (PRC). The name “Hainan” also refers to Hainan Island, the main island of the province. Hainan is located in the South China Sea, separated from Guangdong’s Leizhou Peninsula to the north by the shallow and narrow Qiongzhou Strait. The size of Hainan Island (32,900 km2 (12,700 sq mi) constitutes 97% of the entire province. To the west of Hainan Island is the Gulf of Tonkin. Wuzhi Mountain (1,840 m) is the highest mountain on the island.

Leave a Reply