Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Bohol and Leyte Islands in the Philippines

10.1N 124.6E

November 8th, 2010 Category: Mountains

Philippines - August 27th, 2010

Bohol Island occupies the lower left quadrant of this  orthorectified image. It is the main island of Bohol Province in the Visayas. The other smaller islands near its shores are also part of Bohol Province.

Bohol Island lies southwest of Leyte Island, visible in the upper right quadrant. The two are separated by the Camotes Sea and Canigao Channel.

With a land area of 3269 km² and a coastline 261 km long, Bohol is the tenth largest island of the Philippines. The main island is surrounded by about 70 smaller islands.

Bohol’s mountainous interior is home to rare and endangered flora and fauna. At certain points, hills drop steeply to the coast from a maximum elevation of 870 meters above sea level.

Leyte Island, on the other hand, measures about 180 km (110 mi) north-south and about 65 km (40 mi) at its widest point. It is mostly heavily forested and mountainous, but the Leyte Valley in the northeast has much agriculture.

Leave a Reply