Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

The South Caucasus Region by the Caspian Sea

September 23rd, 2011 Category: Lakes, Mountains

Georgia - September 9th, 2011

The Caucasus is a geopolitical region at the border of Europe and Asia. It is home to the Caucasus Mountains, including Europe’s highest mountain (Mount Elbrus). This image focuses on the South Caucasus, a geopolitical region located on the border of Eastern Europe and Southwest Asia, also referred to as Transcaucasia, or The Trans-Caucasus.

More specifically, the South Caucasus area spans the southern portion of the Caucasus Mountains and its lowlands, straddles the border between the two continents of Europe and Asia, extends from the southern part of the Greater Caucasus mountain range of southwestern Russia southerly to the Turkish and Armenian borders, and from the Black Sea to the Caspian Sea coast of Iran.

The area includes the southern part of the Greater Caucasus Mountain range, the entire Lesser Caucasus Mountain range, the Colchis Lowlands and Kura-Aras Lowlands, the Talysh Mountains, the Lenkoran Lowlands, Javakheti and the Armenian highlands. The Transcaucasus, or South Caucasus area, is a part of the entire Caucasus geographical region that essentially divides the Eurasian transcontinent into two.

All of Armenia is in Southern Caucasus; the majority of Georgia and Azerbaijan, including the exclave of Nax├živan, fall within this area.

Leave a Reply