Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Lakes by Chile-Argentina Border and Tierra del Fuego

54.7S 65.6W

September 21st, 2011 Category: Lakes

Argentina - August 16th, 2011

This image stretches across the Argentine province of Santa Cruz to Tierra del Fuego, shared by Chile and Argentina. Visible in the lower right corner is Mitre Peninsula, the easternmost part of Isla Grande de Tierra del Fuego.

The land to the east is snow-free, while that to the west, by the Andes Mountains, is snow-covered. Visible amidst the snow are three bright blue lakes: Lake O’Higgins/San Martín, Lake Viedma and Lake Argentino (from north to south).

The lake known as O’Higgins in Chile and San Martín in Argentina, is located in Patagonia, between the Aysén Region and the Santa Cruz Province. Its surface is of 1,058 km² at 250 metres above mean sea level, and has a shoreline length of 525 km. Viewed from above, the lake consists of a series of finger-shaped flooded valleys, of which approximately 554 km² are in Chile and 459 km² in Argentina.

Viedma Lake, approximately 50 miles (80 kilometers) long in southern Patagonia near the border between Chile and Argentina, is a major elongated trough lake formed from melting glacial ice. The Viedma Glacier measures 3 miles (5 kilometers) wide at its terminus at Lake Viedma.

Lago Argentino is a lake in the Patagonian province of Santa Cruz, Argentina. It is the biggest freshwater lake in Argentina, with a surface area of 1,466 km2 (566 sq mi) (maximum width: 20 mi (32 km)). It has an average depth of 150 m (492 ft), and a maximum depth of 500 m (1,640 ft).

Leave a Reply