Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Lake Victoria and Neighboring Lakes in East Africa

1.2S 32.7E

March 29th, 2010 Category: Lakes

Uganda and Tanzania - March 5th, 2010

Uganda and Tanzania - March 5th, 2010

Lake Victoria or Victoria Nyanza (also known as Ukerewe, Nalubaale, Sango, or Lolwe) is one of the African Great Lakes. At 68,800 square kilometres (26,600 sq mi), it is the continent’s largest lake, and the largest tropical lake in the world. Here, Lake Victoria occupies much of the image, although Lake Nyoga, Lake Albert and Lake Edward are visible to the north, northwest and west, respectively.

Lake Victoria occupies a shallow depression in the East African Plateau, and has a maximum depth of 84 metres (280 ft) and an average depth of 20 metres (66 ft). Its catchment area covers 184,000 square kilometres (71,040 sq mi).

The lake has a shoreline of some 4,828 kilometres (3,000 mi), with islands constituting some 3.7% of this length, and is divided between three countries: Kenya (6% or 4,100 km2/1,600 sq mi), Uganda (45% or 31,000 km2/12,000 sq mi) and Tanzania (49% or 33,700 km2/13,000 sq mi).

Leave a Reply