Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Chizumulu and Likoma Islands in Lake Malawi

12S 34.6E

December 14th, 2010 Category: Lakes

Malawi, Mozambique and Tanzania - December 10th, 2010

This orthorectified image shows part of Lake Malawi (also known as Lake Nyasa), shared by the countries of Malawi, Mozambique and Tanzania.

Two islands are visible in the lake in the lower right corner: Chizumulu Island (smaller, left) and Likoma Island (larger, right), which together make up the Likoma District.

Both these islands lie just a few kilometres from Mozambique, and are entirely surrounded by Mozambican territorial waters, but belong to Malawi.

Leave a Reply