Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

African Great Lakes: Victoria, Tanganyika and Malawi

5S 32.0E

September 26th, 2011 Category: Lakes

Africa - August 12th, 2011

The African Great Lakes are a series of lakes and the Rift Valley lakes in and around the geographic Great Rift Valley formed by the action of the tectonic East African Rift on the continent of Africa.

They include Lake Victoria (partially visible amongst the clouds at the top), the second largest fresh water lake in the world in terms of surface area, and Lake Tanganyika (left), the world’s second largest in volume as well as the second deepest.

Visible in the lower right corner is part of Lake Malawi, also considered one of the Great Lakes. Visible between Lakes Tanganyika and Malawi is the golden brown Lake Rukwa.



Leave a Reply