Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Volcanoes of the Virunga Mountains, DRC and Rwanda – August 10th, 2010

1.5S 29.4E

August 10th, 2010 Category: Image of the day, Mountains, Volcanoes

DRC and Rwanda - July 27th, 2010

This orthorectified image shows several volcanoes near the border of the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Rwanda. All of the volcanoes are located in the Virunga Mountains.

Near the center left is Mount Nyamuragira, an active volcano that is only 13 km north-north-west of Nyiragongo, the volcano which caused extensive damage to the city of Goma in its 2002 eruption.

Mount Nyiragongo, whose main crater is flanked by two other indentations, is a stratovolcano just west of the border with Rwanda. The main crater is about two km wide and usually contains a lava lake.

Moving eastward, one comes to the Mikeno Volcano. Southeast of that peak is Mount Karisimbi, an inactive volcano on the border between Rwanda and the DRC. At 4507 m, Karisimbi is the highest of the eight major mountains of the mountain range.

Karisimbi is flanked to the east by Mount Bisoke, an extinct volcano that straddles the border of Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, although the summit is located in Rwanda.

The peak furthest east, near the right edge of the image, is Mount Sabyinyo, an extinct volcano. The summit of the mountain, at 3645 m, marks the intersection of the borders of the DRC, Rwanda, and Uganda.

Leave a Reply