Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

The Seven Largest Canary Islands – January 25th, 2011

28.3N 16.5W

January 25th, 2011 Category: Image of the day

Canary Islands - January 16th, 2011

The Canary Islands, belonging to Spain, are situated off the coast of Morocco and Western Sahara. The archipelago consists of seven large and several smaller islands, all of which are volcanic in origin.

The seven principal islands are all visible here, from left to right: El Hierro, La Palma, La Gomera, Tenerife, Gran Canaria, Fuerteventura and Lanzarote. Several of their high volcanic peaks can be observed in the full image.

Leave a Reply