Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Mount Cleveland Volcano and Islands of the Four Mountains, Alaska, USA – October 31st, 2011

52.8N 169.9W

October 31st, 2011 Category: Image of the day, Volcanoes

USA - October 29th, 2011

This orthorectified image shows the Islands of Four Mountains, an island grouping of the Aleutian Islands in Alaska, United States. The chain includes, from west to east, Amukta, Chagulak, Yunaska, Herbert, Carlisle, Chuginadak, Uliaga, and Kagamil Islands.

This island chain is located between Amukta Pass and the Andreanof Islands to the west, and Samalga Pass and the Fox Islands to the east. These islands have a total land area of 210.656 sq mi (545.596 km²) and have no permanent population.

The two largest islands are Yunaska and Chuginadak. Chuginadak is mainly made up of the active volcano Mount Cleveland, a nearly symmetrical stratovolcano on the western end the island. Mount Cleveland is 1730 m high, and one of the most active of the 75 or more volcanoes in the larger Aleutian Arc. Mount Cleveland erupted three times in 2009, twice in 2010, and once in 2011.

Leave a Reply