Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Contrails Over Aegean Islands, Greece and Turkey

37.2N 25.3E

November 19th, 2011 Category: Clouds

Greece and Turkey - November 8th, 2011

The Aegean Islands are a large group of islands in the Aegean Sea, with mainland Greece to the west and north and Turkey to the east; the island of Crete delimits the sea to the south, those of Rhodes, Karpathos and Kasos to the southeast.

The Aegean Islands belong mostly to Greece, being split among nine administrative peripheries. The only sizable possessions of Turkey in the Aegean Sea are Imbros (Gökçeada) and Tenedos (Bozcaada), in the northeastern end of the Sea. The Turkish islands also include various smaller islets off Turkey’s western coast.

The Aegean Islands are traditionally subdivided into seven groups, from north to south: Northeastern Aegean Islands, Sporades, Euboea, Argo-Saronic Islands, Cyclades, Dodecanese (Southern Sporades, with the exception of Kastellorizo and adjacent islets, which belong to the Eastern Mediterranean), and Crete.

Visible in the lower part of the image and amidst the islands are numerous condensation trails (or contrails), vapor trails from passing aircraft that leave criss-crossed lines in the sky.

Leave a Reply