Earth Snapshot RSS Feed Twitter

Search Results for "sulawesi":

Borneo, Sulawesi and Lesser Sunda Islands, Indonesia

1.8S 120.5E

November 30th, 2011 Category: Snapshots

Indonesia - November 25th, 2011

Indonesia, officially the Republic of Indonesia, is a country in Southeast Asia and Oceania. It is an archipelago comprising approximately 13,000 islands. Visible here are Borneo (left), Sulawesi (center) and the Lesser Sunda Islands (bottom).

Borneo is the third largest island in the world. It is divided among three countries: Brunei, Indonesia and Malaysia. Approximately 73% of the island is Indonesian territory.

Sulawesi is the world’s eleventh-largest island, covering an area of 174,600 km2 (67,413 sq mi). It has a distinctive shape, dominated by four large peninsulas (best observed in the full image): the Semenanjung Minahassa; the East Peninsula; the South Peninsula; and the South-east Peninsula. The central part of the island is ruggedly mountainous, such that the island’s peninsulas have traditionally been remote from each other, with better connections by sea than by road.

The Lesser Sunda Islands, or Nusa Tenggara, are a group of islands in the southern Maritime Southeast Asia, north of Australia. Together with the Greater Sunda Islands to the west they make up the Sunda Islands. The islands are part of a volcanic arc, the Sunda Arc, formed by subduction along the Java Trench in the Java Sea.

Minahassa and East Peninsulas of Sulawesi, Indonesia

1.8S 120.5E

June 2nd, 2011 Category: Mountains

Indonesia - May 18th, 2011

The Gulf of Tomini is a gulf near the island of Sulawesi, Indonesia. It is bounded on its north and west sides by the Minahassa Peninsula and on the south side by the East Peninsula, Sulawesi.

The central part of Sulawesi is ruggedly mountainous, such that the island’s peninsulas have traditionally been remote from each other, with better connections by sea than by road. Here, clouds hang to the peaks of the mountain ranges.


Provinces of the Northern Arm of Sulawesi, Indonesia

1.4N 124.8E

April 10th, 2010 Category: Snapshots

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

The Indonesian island of Sulawesi has four principle peninsulas. Upon opening the full image, entire Minahassa Peninsula, or northern Sulawesi arm, can be observed. It is shared by two provinces: Gorontalo to the west and North Sulawesi to the east.

Gorontalo province has an elongated shaped area, stretching from west to east almost horizontally on a map, with a total area of 12,215.44 km2 (4,716.41 sq mi). The topography of the province is relatively low, with the elevation ranging between 0—2,400 m (7,874.02 ft) above sea level.

To the north and the south of the province are the Sulawesi Sea and the Gulf of Tomini, respectively. Gorontalo’s coastline length is more than 590 km (366.61 mi). The total sea area of the province is more than 50,500 km2 (19,498.16 sq mi). There are some small islands around the north and the south of the province, 67 of which have been identified and named.

North Sulawesi is bordered by Gorontalo to the west. The latter was originally a part of North Sulawesi until 2001 when it became its own province. The islands of Sangihe and Talaud form the northern part of North Sulawesi and border the Philippines. The capital and largest city in the province is Manado, with a population of about 2 million (as of 2006).

Vegetation Index of Sulawesi Peninsulas and Maluku Islands, Indonesia

April 4th, 2010 Category: Vegetation Index

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

Indonesia - March 5th, 2010

This FAPAR image of part of Indonesia shows areas of the island of Sulawesi (also known as Celebes) to the left and some of the Maluku Islands to the right and center.

Sulawesi has four principal peninsulas, two of which can be seen here. Minahassa Peninsula, center left, stretches north from the central part of the island, before turning to the east and forming the northern boundary of the Gulf of Tomini.
The East Peninsula, lower left quadrant, stretches east from the central part of the island, forming the southern boundary of the Gulf of Tomini.

The central part of the island is ruggedly mountainous, such that the island’s peninsulas have traditionally been remote from each other, with better connections by sea than by road.

The lowland forests on the island are, unfortunately, almost gone. Because of the relative geological youth of the island and its dramatic and sharp topography, the lowland areas are naturally limited in their extent.

The island also possesses one of the largest outcrops of serpentine soil in the world, which support an unusual and large community of specialized plant species. Overall, however, the flora and fauna of this unique center of global biodiversity is very poorly documented and understood and remains critically threatened.

Moving east, the Maluku Islands (also known as the Moluccas, Moluccan Islands, the Spice Islands) are an archipelago in Indonesia, and part of the larger Maritime Southeast Asia region. Most of the islands are mountainous, some with active volcanoes, and enjoy a wet climate.

The vegetation of the small and narrow islands, encompassed by the sea, is very luxuriant; including rainforests, sago, rice and the famous spices – nutmeg, cloves and mace, among others.

Despite the aforementioned disappearance of the lowland forests on Sulawesi and the presence of luxurious rainforest on the Maluku Islands, Sulawesi shows a higher index of photosynthetic activity here, appearing more red than green.

Timor, Across the Sea from Northwestern Australia

10.6S 124.7E

September 9th, 2011 Category: Sediments

Australia - September 5th, 2011

Sediments line the coast of northwestern Australia, giving a green tinge to the waters along the shoreline. Visible across the sea is Timor, an island at the southern end of Maritime Southeast Asia, north of the Timor Sea.

It is divided between the independent state of East Timor, and West Timor, belonging to the Indonesian province of East Nusa Tenggara. The island’s surface is 30,777 square kilometres.

Timor is located north of Australia, and is one of the easternmost Sunda Islands. Together with Sumba, Babar and associated smaller islands, Timor forms the southern outer archipelago of the Lesser Sunda Islands with the inner islands of Flores, Alor and Wetar to the north, and beyond them Sulawesi.


About Us

Earth Observation



January 2019
« Mar    


Bulletin Board

Featured Posts



Take Action